Play nicely children

Justine Greening, speaking for those Tories on the Companies Bill in parliament yesterday, got into a bit of a tear up with Margeret Hodge.  Greening said something rude about Hodge, who wouldn’t let it go.  Eventually, the Speaker had to speak in:

Margaret Hodge: On a point of order, Mr. Speaker. I will not interrupt the hon. Lady again unless she provokes me, but she was misrepresenting me. When I said, “none”, I meant, “no jobs.”

Mr. Speaker: That is a rebuttal for a later stage. Misrepresentation is a very strong term. The Minister could always say that the hon. Lady was mistaken, which is nicer.

Whoever said that the Mother of all Parliaments can get a little like a boarding school may well have had a point…

3 Responses to Play nicely children

  1. Andrea says:

    I don’t think Greening said something rude to Hodge…I think it was Greening asking many questions whilst speaking and then using a Hodge reply (the “none” thing) to the question she suit her better.
    Naturally Hodge replied back

  2. Nick says:

    I can’t stand Justine Greening – so smug and patronising. I once saw her express surprise that a norther, working class MP had learned to read, to snorts of laughter from her braying pin-striped Tory colleagues.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Hallo, very good site!

Leave a Reply

