Finding our voice

We’ve decided on a new system for comment pieces. This is all part of us working out a system for this blog, which is still in its first week.

We’re happy with the way things are going, and our stats show a strong rise in readers in just a few days.

As you know, I am the editor of the blog, but not the only contributor. We’ve worked on the assumption that news is fair game and you’ll just have to guess whether I’ve written a piece or not. I can see one or two things we’ve already written that my loose me some friends, but I can deal with the social stigma.

However, comment pieces are a little different. I think we’ve had some very good, well informed comment pieces already from every one of the trained chimps with typewriters that I have locked up in the Daily’s basement.  It’s also fair to say that we don’t always agree on the content of our comments. We’ve decided to label these Guest Columns to differentiate them from our other reporting.

Leave a Reply

